Sistahs Sizzlin’ Read: A Word for The Open Mouth by Kenyata Garner

wordmouthssrPOETRY
A WORD FOR THE OPEN MOUTH – KENYATA GARNER

Give a brief description of your poetry book, A Word for The Open Mouth.
A Word For the Open Mouth is a very in depth and unique book of spoken word poetry. It really brings a fresh outlook on spoken word as it tests the boundaries of traditional poetry and literature. Like the founders of spoken word, each piece holds truths and emotions tied in with creativity and unspoken music. Meaning it moves to an unheard beat. Every poem has its own rhythm, its own voice, it’s own specific pace, which gives each piece the ability to speak to all genders, sexualities, races, and personalities. It is an overall collection of diverse poems written throughout the past six or seven years of my life. It allows the readers to experience my growth and my understanding of events, our world, and life in its entirety, as I walk throughout different phases in my own life. Although most poems are not personal they speak a lot to who I am as a person. My ability to look on the other side of the mirror. Unafraid, naked, exposed and without literary boundaries. It is most definitely a ground shaking adventure.

Why should readers pick up your book?
Readers shouldn’t pick up A Word For The Open Mouth without intentions on experiencing it. It is one thing to read a book, it is another to engage in it, to connect with its contents. Not only engaging in a book, but relating to or being able to relate to what is being said. Performances with no depth have little effect on an individual’s outlook. I want to change the outlook, give a different view on things, performance is always good to keep an audience interested, but I want to educate, reach out, and change lives. Visualization is also a very important key with this particular book. It allows the reader to not only read but to explore, to visualize and to be able to grasp hold of the actual “scene.” There are many books in the world, some with clever catch phrases and peculiar settings etc. This book is for the lover of poetry as a whole. One who can look past what may seem to be borderline insanity and say, “Ah, there it is, that is what I’ve been looking for.” I want to cause my readers to think, and to think not only outside of the box, but to really “Get” it.

What are you working on next?
I actually have three new projects I am working on at this time. I have a second poetry book, which is completed and ready to be released in 2014 called Freedom of the Speechless. The other two projects are still coming along, both of which are novels: Birds Don’t Swim in the Winter, the second title is still in the making at this time. I will say this; the novels are very different from my poetry but still hold true to my ability and need to test boundaries. They will most definitely be a must read for the summer of 2014. I think my readers will be pleasantly surprised at my ability to be versatile in my writings.

What are your summer plans?
My summer plans are simply to relax, write, work, and explore Chicago! I moved here about 8 months ago and there is still so much to see! I spend most of my free time writing, walking, and trying to catch a swim or two at the beach. It is very different from what I know to be home so I intend on seeing as much as possible. Expanding my writing and exploring. Networking is also a must! I’ve met so many young actors, writers, comedians, all around artists here; I moved during the colder months so I haven’t really had the opportunity to get out until now. So far, I am really enjoying the energy that Chicago brings. The diversity and the differences in the community here, It sparks a new kind of creativity in me. I intend to continue my networking, visiting the art district and really connecting with the other artists here.

Website: http://www.sumbrypublishing.com (Currently under Construction)

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Kenyata Garner (The actual artist page)

Twitter: @KenyataGarner

Where can readers purchase A Word for The Open Mouth? You can purchase at Amazon.com, Barnesandnoble.com, and Smashwords.com. It is also available on Sony and Ibooks as well (Using your iphone or ipad ibook app).

Leave a Reply

